Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join AMATYC
HILT Activities: High Impact on Student Learning, Little Time in Class to Implement
Register Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
 

This webinar will present videos of instructors implementing activities designed to help students learn the correct meanings of targeted words and improve understanding of associated statistical content.

 Export to Your Calendar 6/28/2018
When: 6/28/2018
2:00 pm to 3:00 pm
Where: United States
Contact: AMATYC Office
901.333.5643


Online registration is available until: 6/28/2018
« Go to Upcoming Event List  

  

Speakers:  Jennifer Kaplan

Sponsoring Committee:  Joint Committee of AMATYC and the American Statistical Association (ASA)

Date:  Thursday, June 28th

Time:  2:00 pm EDT / 1:00 pm CDT / 12:00 pm MDT / 11:00 am PDT

Description:   Have you ever heard your students say “OMG, that’s so random!” or suggest taking a random sample by just “picking any of the people”? Do you worry that your students confuse the statistical meanings of correlation and association? The statistical and everyday meanings of many words differ, which can cause unnecessary confusion for students. This webinar will present videos of instructors implementing activities designed to help students learn the correct meanings of targeted words and improve understanding of associated statistical content. The activities have a High-Impact on student learning, but require Little-Time in class to complete. The webinar will conclude with a brief introduction to the HILT-Statistics Wikispace developed to house HILT activities and their associated materials and data.

 

Note:  Login instructions for webinar have changed.  There is an extra step.  Please notice the directions on the final confirmation page.

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal