Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join AMATYC
NEEDED MATH for STEM Technicians
Register Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
 

Input from employers provided insights for making mathematics courses/programs more valuable to students in their career pursuits. Recommendations for content/curriculum, instructional strategies, and suggested areas for research will be shared. Participants will be invited to join an established community of interest around this project and links to details of domain-based problems and the project’s outcomes will be provided.

 Export to Your Calendar 10/2/2018
When: 10/02/2018
3:00 pm to 4:00 pm
Where: United States
Contact: AMATYC Office
901.333.5643


Online registration is available until: 10/2/2018
« Go to Upcoming Event List  

  

Speakers:  Solomon Garfunkel and Rodney Null

Sponsoring Committee:  Mathematics and its Applications for Careers (MAC)

Date:  Tuesday, October 2nd

Time:  3:00 pm EDT / 2:00 pm CDT / 1:00 pm MDT / 12:00 pm PDT


Description
:   Employers and program instructors from Biotechnology, Information/Communication Technology, and Manufacturing convened with math educators as part of the National Science Foundation Advanced Technological Education funded NEEDED MATH project. The goal: identify the mathematics needed by technicians and assess how effective current educational pathways are in meeting these needs.

Input from employers provided insights for making mathematics courses/programs more valuable to students in their career pursuits. Recommendations for content/curriculum, instructional strategies, and suggested areas for research will be shared. Participants will be invited to join an established community of interest around this project and links to details of domain-based problems and the project’s outcomes will be provided.

 

Note:  Login instructions for webinar have changed.  There is an extra step.  Please notice the directions on the final confirmation page.

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal