Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join AMATYC
On Fun and Games in the Classroom
Register Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
 

This talk reflects on the use of two math games in two community college transfer-level classes in light of novel core principles that are gleaned from a variety of domains.

 Export to Your Calendar 5/21/2019
When: 5/21/2019
10:00 am to 11:00 am
Where: United States
Contact: AMATYC Office
901.333.5643


Online registration is available until: 5/21/2019
« Go to Upcoming Event List  

  

Speakers:  Michael Renne

Sponsoring Committee:  Innovative Teaching and Learning


Date:
  Tuesday, May 21, 2019

Time:
  10:00 am EDT / 9:00 am CDT / 8:00 am MDT / 7:00 am PDT


Description
:  Evolution in design and technology has significantly increased the use of games in the classroom, offering great potential to engage students in exciting new ways. Educational games have come a long way since Math Blaster, but there is a distressingly low number of games that are suitable for higher education. 

Biography: Michael Renne has been teaching at community colleges in Western Oregon since 2012, and he has been a member of ORMATYC since 2013. He is currently studying design principles for learning games to earn his PhD in Mathematics from Oregon State University, and he recently received a faculty innovator grant award from Linn-Benton Community College to implement a learning game in a mathematics class based on those principles.


Note:  Login instructions for webinar have changed.  There is an extra step.  Please notice the directions to secure your Zoom link on the final confirmation page.

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal