Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join AMATYC
Improving Student Placement Using Multiple Measures Assessment
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
 

This webinar will share information on why the use of multiple measure systems are needed and what to take into account when establishing them.

3/25/2019
When: 3/25/2019
3:00 pm to 4:00 pm
Where: United States
Contact: AMATYC Office
901.333.5643


Online registration is closed.
« Go to Upcoming Event List  

  

Speakers:  Elisabeth Barnett, Teachers College, Columbia University

Sponsors:  Co-Sponsored by AMATYC and the Mathematical Association of America

Date:
  Monday, March 25th 

Time:
  3:00 pm EDT / 2:00 pm CDT / 1:00 pm MDT / 12:00 pm PDT


Description
:   Research suggests that single placement tests result in many students taking remedial courses when they could have passed college-level courses. As a result, colleges around the country are turning to the use of multiple measures (MM) to improve the accuracy of placement. The evidence base is growing for this approach. Seven New York State colleges participated in an experimental study and discovered that students placed using MM were more like to pass a college-level course, but they also learned about the complexities involved in setting up an MM system. This webinar will share information on why MM systems are needed and what to take into account when establishing them.


Note:  Login instructions for webinar have changed.  There is an extra step.  Please notice the directions to secure your Zoom link on the final confirmation page.

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal