Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
Community Search
Teaching with GAISE: Statistical Literacy for the 21st Century
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
 

Data has never been more available. Understanding, processing, and interpreting this ever increasing amount of data will become a critical skill for students entering the workforce.

5/22/2017
When: 5/22/2017
4:30 pm to 5:30 pm
Where: United States
Contact: AMATYC Office
901.333.5643


Online registration is closed.
« Go to Upcoming Event List  

  

Speakers:  Robert Carver, Monica Dabos, Joe Gerda, Kathy Kubo, Megan Mocko, Rebecca Wong, and Beverly Wood

Sponsoring Committee:  Joint Committee of AMATYC and the American Statistical Association (ASA)

Date:  Monday, May 22

Time:  4:30 pm EDT / 3:30 pm CDT / 2:30 pm MDT / 1:30 pm PDT

Description:   Data has never been more available. Understanding, processing, and interpreting this ever increasing amount of data will become a critical skill for students entering the workforce.  How do Introductory Statistics courses need to change in order to prepare students for this?  The panel will start with personal stories from four community college instructors who tell how and why their course has changed in the past 5 years.  Then, the discussion will turn to how to get started making changes in your own course.  The GAISE 2016 (Guidelines for Assessment and Instruction in Statistics Education) document will help guide the discussion of how to prioritize this change.  The panel will answer questions such as “Where would you start?” and “How do you keep on the path of making adjustments to prepare students for the data infused modern world?”. 

 

Note:  Login instructions for webinar have changed.  There is an extra step.  Please notice the directions on the final confirmation page.

Sign In


Calendar

6/14/2017
MINTS: Math Interactive Notebook Teaching Strategies

43rd Annual Conference
San Diego, CA
November 9-12, 2017


Connect with AMATYC