Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join AMATYC
Teaching Excellence Award Winners 1997
Share |

1997 Teaching Excellence Award Winners

The awardees of the 1997 AMATYC Teaching Excellence Award were: Philip Cheifetz (Northeast), Agnes Azzolino (Mid-Atlantic), Robert Kimball(Southeast), Philip DeMarois (Midwest), Julie Guelich (Central), David Dudley (Southwest), Lawrence Runyan (Northwest), and Kathie Yoder(West). These awardees were honored at AMATYC's annual conference in Atlanta during the Saturday Breakfast meeting on November 15, 1997. President Wanda Garner presented each awardee with a medallion from AMATYC, along with a $500 check for professional development from Houghton Mifflin's Faculty Development Programs. She was assisted by Mr. Daryl Peterson from Houghton Mifflin during the presentation.

The Teaching Excellence Award is intended for educators who have made outstanding contributions to mathematics or mathematics education at a two-year college or other institutions granting only associates degrees. Good teaching is the main focus of the award. As chairperson of the 1997 Teaching Excellence Award Committee, I wish to thank the committee members for their untiring efforts in selecting AMATYC's first eight Teaching Excellence awardees. The members of the Committee were Susan Forman, LuAnn Malik, Kodwo Ewusi, Ray Collings, Sandy Spears, Melanie Branca, Marveen McCready and Beth Porter. On behalf of AMATYC, I also would like to thank Houghton Mifflin's Faculty Development Programs, under the leadership of Mr. Daryl Peterson, for its support of our Teaching Excellence Award. Congratulations to each of the first recipients of the AMATYC Teaching Excellence Award!

Sadie Bragg


Philip Cheifetz
Nassau Community College
Northeast Region

Julie Guelich
Normandale Community College
Central Region

Agnes Azzolino
Middlesex County College
Mid-Atlantic Region

Robert Kimball
Wake Technical College
Southeast Region

David Dudley
Phoenix College
Southwest Region

Philip DeMarois
William Rainey Harper College
Midwest Region

Lawrence Runyan
Shoreline Community College
Northwest Region

Kathie Yoder
Los Angeles Pierce College
West Region

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal