Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join AMATYC
Teaching Excellence Award Description & Criteria
Share |

Teaching Excellence Award

The AMATYC Teaching Excellence Award is given in odd-numbered years to outstanding two-year college mathematics instructors. The first round of awards was presented at the 1997 Annual Conference in Atlanta and every odd-numbered year since then. The next round of awards will be presented at the 2019 AMATYC Annual Conference in Milwaukee, WI. Each awardee will receive an AMATYC medallion and a $500 check.

Selection Criteria

Teaching excellence is the main focus of the Teaching Excellence Award. Criteria for selection are:

  • Instructional Effectiveness and Support of Students
    innovative teaching strategies, alternative assessment methods, curriculum development, creating a learning environment for all students, accessible to students in and out of the classroom, etc.
25 points
  • Professional Involvement and Professional Development/Renewal Activities
    active participation in professional organizations, speeches, articles, conferences, etc.
10 points
  • Interaction with Colleagues
    sharing and discussing ideas with other colleagues
10 points
  • Service to Departments/Division/College
    active contributor to college community
5 points

Nominees must be AMATYC members whose primary assigned duties are the delivery of instruction and who have made outstanding contributions to mathematics, statistics, or mathematics education. Nominees must have taught at least one relevant course since the presentation of the Teaching Excellence Award during the AMATYC Conference in the previous odd-numbered year. Nominees must have the equivalent of a minimum of 5 years of full-time teaching experience. Individuals can be selected for the award only once. The number of awards (0-8 awards maximum) will be determined according to the total number of nominations received and the strength of the applicant pool. The names of the awardees of the 2019 AMATYC Teaching Excellence Award will be announced at the 2019 AMATYC Annual Conference. Each awardee will be notified individually prior to the conference.

Nomination Packet

Nominations are invited from AMATYC individual members, AMATYC institutional members, or affiliates. Non-members, such as a supervisor, may nominate an AMATYC member. Members may nominate themselves. A completed nomination packet consists of a:

  • Nomination Form
  • Cover letter from the nominator (not to exceed 3 pages, in at least a 12-point font)
  • Resume or vita of the nominee (not to exceed 3 pages, in at least a 12-point font)
  • Letters of recommendation from each of: a student, a colleague, and a supervisor (not to exceed 1 page, in at least a 12-point font)
  • Summary of the candidate‚Äôs most recent student evaluations (not to exceed 2 pages,12-point font)

Policy dictates that additional information will NOT be considered.

The deadline to submit a nomination for the 2019 TE Award is December 7, 2018. For more information contact Kathryn Kozak by email at  You may also contact your AMATYC regional vice president or regional rep to the committee.

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal