Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join AMATYC
Teaching Excellence Award President's Letter
Share |


Teaching Excellence Award


Past winners of the Teaching Excellence Award

Every two years AMATYC presents awards at the annual conference to celebrate teaching excellence. Since 1997, AMATYC has recognized 68 excellent teachers at 11 different awards ceremonies with the prestigious AMATYC Teaching Excellence (TE) Award.


Honoring our teaching colleagues is important for several reasons:

  • Our teachers are under recognized. They have chosen a career in the service of others. They teach hundreds of students each year and will touch the lives of many over the course of a career. Our teachers make a difference and deserve recognition.
  •  Our teachers are under appreciated. Teachers are regularly asked to do more with less: less pay, fewer resources, fewer professional development funds or opportunities, less autonomy. Good teachers thrive despite the fact that they are undervalued and not recognized or rewarded commensurate with the importance of their work. Every engineer, computer programmer, scientist, or other STEM professional has a math teacher to thank, in part, for their career success.
  • AMATYC is committed to publicizing and celebrating the craft of teaching. National awards draw positive attention to teaching and to the awardees’ colleges. It is important to celebrate the best in the mathematics teaching profession by honoring a subset of our excellent member teachers every two years.
  •  Teaching excellence is one of AMATYC’s core values. Effective teaching is one of the most important influences on student learning.

Nominations for the 2019 awards will be reviewed by a committee chaired by AMATYC President-Elect, Kathryn Kozak. Members of the committee are representatives from each of AMATYC’s eight regions and one at-large adjunct member. They include Chris Yuen (Northeast), David Torain (MidAtlantic), Debbie Garrison (Southeast), Kinga Oliver (Midwest), Melissa Kosch (Central), Elizabeth Gamboa (Southwest), Barbra Steinhurst (Northwest), Mary Beard (West), and Brad Pretzer (At-large).


The next awards will be presented at the 2019 Annual AMATYC Conference in Milwaukee, WI, which will be held November 14-17, 2019.


The deadline to submit a nomination for the 2019 TE Award is December 7, 2018.  More information can be found on the related links above. Contact Kate or your region’s representative with any questions.


Jim Ham

AMATYC President

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal